I want to say my first experience playing Halo was in 2005 or 2006, and it was at a friend’s house. He told me about this game called Halo 2, and that you could play multiplayer with other people from around the world (Xbox Live!), and I was amazed. I was really excited to try this game out, but, needless to say, I was horrible. Like, really, really horrible. My fun in Halo 2 was had driving around in the Warthog in Big Team Battle honking the horn the whole time.

That was then. After that experience, I knew I was hooked. So, for Christmas in 2006, I got a brand new Xbox 360 (the old fat ones that RROD’d all the time), and my own copy of Halo 2. I was so excited to set it up and play online with my friends. Only problem was, I could not for the life of me figure out how to set up Xbox Live. As a result, I was limited to playing campaign and splitscreen. It wasn’t until November of 2007, after I had gotten Halo 3, that I finally got Xbox Live set up at my house. I still remember my first match, it was Team Doubles on Guardian with my friend. He carried me, as you might expect, but I was just so happy to be able to play online with my friends.

I was still getting accustomed to online play, as I struggled to get to a level 20 in Halo 3. Eventually, I was able to make my way to a 38 in Lone Wolves (not impressive by any means, but whatever). I still have many good memories playing Halo 3 with my friends, whether it was beating the campaign on Legendary, making many memorable comebacks in the MLG playlist, playing Fat Kid and Duck Hunt in Custom Games, Firefight in ODST, finding those skulls on the Mythic maps, or messing around in Forge. Halo 3 holds a special place in my heart.

Then came Halo Reach. I was so excited to try the beta when it finally arrived. I did enjoy it, but not as much as I had thought I would. Something just didn’t seem right, but I couldn’t put my finger on it. Either way, I was still really excited to get the game when it came out. I really enjoyed it at first, but then I started noticing things that I didn’t like. Things like Armor Abilities (ARMOR LOCK!!!), that insane bloom on the DMR, the dreaded sprint+double melee, and mini-nukes disguised as frag grenades, to name a few. I also though the campaign was mediocre at best, nothing compared to what I experienced in Halo 2 or 3.  At one point, I quit playing Halo altogether, just because of Reach.

Eventually, I tried playing Reach again, and I was able to find it tolerable, more so after 343 released the Title Update from the Heavens, aka, ZERO BLOOM! That ZB playlist was so fun, shame they took it out, but at least the playlists with the lessened bloom were okay. Then in 2011, I hear that Combat Evolved would be remastered for the 360. Having never played it, I figured I should experience the game that started it all. I also learned of Halo 4, which would be released in 2012. Naturally, I was going to keep my eye out for updates there.

After completing the outstanding remastered campaign in CE Anniversary, I turned my full Halo focus to Halo 4. I constantly visited sites like Waypoint, posted on forums, and watched various videos to learn more about what we could expect in Halo 4. After months of anticipation, I finally got to play it, and I loved it. The campaign was unbelievably good, one of the best single player experiences in my video game life. The multiplayer was also a step up from Reach, in my opinion, though it does feel more like a sequel to Reach, rather than Halo 3. Regardless, I still enjoy Halo 4, and play it almost every day.

So, that about wraps it up. Props are in order if you managed to read the whole thing. Here’s a cookie (::) I promise most of my other posts won’t be this long, maybe. Okay, I’ll stop rambling now.

