I want to talk about what I think about Halo 4’s multiplayer, and multiplayer only, since that is probably Halo’s main seller. There are a lot of varying opinions on Halo 4’s War Games, some love it, others hate it. Here’s what I think.

Do I think it is the worst Halo ever in terms of multiplayer? Not at all. Do I think it is the best? Nope. I do, however, feel like instead of being a sequel to Halo 3, I feel like it is more of a sequel to Halo Reach, with various features like custom loadouts and Armor Abilities.

Now, does that mean that I don’t like custom loadouts or Armor Abilities? No, but I would like to see them more balanced than they currently are. I really like being able to choose what weapon I spawn with, since I hated AR starts in Halo 3 and Reach, especially Reach. Now, I can just spawn with a BR or DMR whenever I want. However, I think that the perks, or Armor Mods as they are called, are pointless, and we do not need them in Halo. Now, with Armor Abilities, I’m okay with Armor Abilities, just as long as they are balanced. So, things like Active Camo and Jet Pack need to go, but I would like to see Camo return as a powerup ala Halo 2/3.

As for ordnance, I believe that it needs work as well. Currently, the personal ordnance is random, as one person can get things like frags, speed boost, and a needler, while someone else could get a damage boost, sniper, and incineration cannon. I believe that personal ordnance should be tiered in a way that your first ordnance gives you things like grenades and ammo, and each personal ordnance afterwards, your rewards get more powerful. This rewards players for doing really well, instead of personal ordnance being a dice roll like it is now.

As of today, the peak population of Halo 4’s War Games was 36,735 (courtesy of HaloCharts.com), a far cry from the 410,534 playing on November 7th. It is pretty evident that many people are not happy with Halo 4, the population speaks for itself. I am confident that 343 will take this as a learning experience, and that Halo 5 will be amazing, right from the get-go. I believe that this is what needs to happen for Halo 5 to sustain any kind of population for a long period of time, since it is all about instant gratification now. Not many people are willing to wait for a Title Update or a new playlist to make the game better. If they aren’t happy, they’ll move on.

I could keep going, but I won’t, I’ll save you the extra reading for another time. Until then, I’ll stop rambling.

