NOTE: This is not a stupid fanboy console war nerd rage post. I don’t give a shit about the console war, or any of that nonsense. If you like PlayStation, then get the PS4, and if you like Xbox, get the Xbox One. Leave it at that. No need to argue over which console is “better” or try to explain why the other console is inferior. IT. DOESN’T. MATTER. This has been an End the Console War PSA. We now return to your regularly scheduled programming.

So I’ve decided to share my thoughts on the Xbox One and the PS4 since they will be releasing soon. Is this post about Halo? No, not really. Is it relevant to Halo in any way? Yeah, kinda, and I’ll go into further detail. So without further ado, behold! My super official thoughts and opinions on the Xbox One and the PS4!

Both consoles are releasing within a few weeks of each other, and they both have their pros and cons. The most glaring difference of the two is price. The PS4 is priced at $399, while the Xbox One will cost $499. Obviously, the Xbox One is more expensive since each console is shipped with a Kinect. I’m sure that it would be similarly priced to the PS4 if the Kinect was sold separately. However, it is not, so this is what we have to fork over to get an Xbox One. That being said, many people will go for the PS4 since it is $100 cheaper than the Xbox One.

In terms of power, many people have said that the PS4 is more powerful than the Xbox One. I’m not very familiar with specs, processing power, RAM, and CPU, but I’ll take people’s word for it when they say the PS4 is more powerful. However, I’ve seen many videos where a game is running side by side on PS4 and Xbox One, and the difference seems very minimal to me. Then again, it could be just the video being compressed so it is more difficult to tell the difference between the two. I’m sure games look beautiful on both consoles, but with the whole Call of Duty Ghosts being 720p on Xbox One and 1080p on PS4, obviously games will look a little better on PS4.

Exclusives are a big seller for me, and if you couldn’t already tell, I’m going to be leaning toward Xbox One here. I’m definitely going to want to get Halo 5, and the only way I can do that is to get an Xbox One. Plus, I’m interested in trying out Titanfall. It looks like it could be pretty good, even if there is no single player. I can’t say the same thing for PS4. I don’t have much interest in PS4’s exclusives. The Xbox One exclusives are more appealing to me.

As for multiplatform games, I’d think they will be better on PS4, since the PS4 is more powerful. Just look at Call of Duty Ghosts and Battlefield 4. COD Ghosts is 720p on Xbox One and 1080p on PS4, and Battlefield 4 is 720p on Xbox One and 900p on PS4. I’m sure this won’t be the case for every next-gen game, but it’s pretty damning if the Xbox One can’t even run Call of Duty Ghosts at 1080p.

In terms of the controller, I far prefer the Xbox 360 controller over the PS3 controller. I think the X360 controller is just about perfect, especially since my Halo 4 X360 controller has that sweet transforming d-pad. I just never liked the PS3 controller, it felt too small and awkward as I was holding it. That being said, the PS4 controller looks much better, but then again, so does the Xbox One controller.

I have to give the edge to Xbox for online service. I think Xbox Live is a superior service to PSN in terms of matchmaking, security, and overall reliability. However, now that PSN will require a subscription, it will probably be much improved and will rival Xbox Live.

So where do I stand on the Xbox One vs PS4 debate? Honestly, I don’t know. I prefer the Xbox One’s exclusives (mostly Halo), controller, and online, but I like the PS4’s power, it’s cheaper, and multiplatform games will probably run better on PS4. Maybe I’ll just get both. Not at once obviously, but at some point. Why not right? Get the best of both worlds.

Am I getting a next-gen console at launch? No. For Christmas? Unlikely. Sometime in early 2014? Possibly. I want to hold off on buying a console this year for multiple reasons.

  1. I want see early reviews and opinions on both consoles.
  2. There aren’t any next-gen games that I’m dying to play right away. Watch Dogs was about it, but it’s been delayed.
  3. I want to wait for a potential price drop.
  4. I want to also wait for any potential issues with either console to be fixed (don’t want another repeat of the RROD).

So there you have it. My awesome, totally legit thoughts on next-gen. I hope ya liked it. If not, then storm off angrily as you shake your fist in my general direction. I don’t know what else to tell you. Well, until next time.

