Yo, so today I thought I’d rank each Halo game that I’ve played. So, sorry Halo Wars and Spartan Assault, you guys aren’t in this discussion. That being said, I will actually be doing multiple rankings: Campaign, Multiplayer, and Miscellaneous (stuff like Custom Games, Forge, Armor customization, etc). So here we go!

CAMPAIGN

  1. Halo: Combat Evolved – How can I not put this at number 1? It’s the game that started it all. Plus, it introduced us to an exciting, vast new universe with all sorts of adventures to embark on. Also, playing CE Anniversary adds to that classic experience since you can experience the renowned campaign in all its High Definition glory.
  2. Halo 4 – I thought 343 did an outstanding job with the campaign for Halo 4. I loved how it explored both Chief’s and Cortana’s personalities more in depth than we’ve ever seen before. We also got to explore a beautifully crafted new world and fight new, interesting enemies, in addition to the Covenant. It felt a lot like Combat Evolved in this way since Halo 4 introduced us to many new characters, enemies, weapons, and worlds.
  3. Halo 3: ODST – I thought that Bungie made a really unique experience with ODST. It was a really fun experience being an ODST and having to change your playstyle a bit since you aren’t a two-ton Spartan charging into battle anymore. Plus, the whole structure of the campaign revolving around flashbacks and jumping from one team member to another was pretty cool. ODST was different, but different isn’t always a bad thing.
  4. Halo 3 – Finish the Fight! Halo 3 had just about everything to close out the original trilogy in style. Covies, Flood, epic Warthog runs, destroying Scarabs like a badass mofo, and teaming up with Arbiter! Halo 3’s campaign was truly memorable in every sense.
  5. Halo 2 -Don’t take Halo 2’s lower ranking as me not liking it. Halo 2’s campaign was amazing, it’s just there are four that I liked better. Halo 2’s campaign was equally as badass as Halo 3’s, just I didn’t get the same feeling of epicness (is that a word?) I got from Halo 3.
  6. Halo: Reach – This is actually the only campaign I didn’t care for. I just didn’t feel any connection to Noble Team, no where near the connection I got with Master Chief, and I feel that there were a lot of missed opportunities. The most noticeable being a huge, all out large-scale battle with the Covenant on Reach. That would have been truly epic. Oh, but the space battle was pretty awesome. I’ll give Reach that.

MULTIPLAYER

  1. Halo 3 – To me, Halo 3 was the complete package in terms of multiplayer. It had tight, competitive matchmaking, and fun, creative custom games. Plus, Halo 3 was that time where I was getting going on Xbox Live, so I was always online playing with friends. Halo 3 will always be the most memorable online experience of my life, and I’ll always have a special place in my heart for Halo 3.
  2. Halo 2 – Halo 3 wouldn’t have been what it was if it wasn’t for Halo 2. I’ll admit that I didn’t play much Halo 2 online since Halo 3 was out, but when I did play Halo 2, it was a ton of fun. Halo 2 has to be at least top two for it’s innovation and the fact that most online games owe Halo 2 for igniting online multiplayer on consoles.
  3. Halo 4 – It may be dead competitively, and it may have put Halo’s future in jeopardy, but damn it I liked Halo 4’s multiplayer! I found it to be faced paced, competitive fun, especially with the weapon tuning they did earlier this year. That being said, once you hit SR-130 and have everything unlocked, there isn’t much incentive to play anymore. Spartan Ops is fun, but once you complete all of the episodes, there’s no reason to go back and replay them. Also, Halo 4 was a step back from Reach in terms of Custom Games. When there are less Custom Games options than your predecessor, there’s a problem. Halo 4 just didn’t have much staying power.
  4. Halo: Combat Evolved – Sure, it may not have had online multiplayer (at least on Xbox), but that doesn’t mean it wasn’t awesome. Come on, dat 3 shot pistol doe. I did actually play an demo for the online on my laptop about a year ago, and even now, it still kicks ass. Though, not as much ass as it would have if it had online multiplayer (not faulting Bungie, the technology just wasn’t really there yet at the time).
  5. Halo: Reach – I’ll be honest here; I did not like Reach’s multiplayer. In fact, there was a point where I hated it so much, that it made me hate Halo in general for months. It wasn’t until soon before 343 added the Title Update that I started mildly enjoying Reach’s multiplayer. Firefight was fun, I’ll say that much, same with Custom Games, but I really did not care for the matchmaking.
  6. Halo 3: ODST – Yeah, Firefight is really fun, better than Reach’s Firefight if you ask me, but that’s all there is. No, the Halo 3 Multiplayer disc doesn’t count. That’s Halo 3. Not ODST. ODST only has Firefight, and while it’s great, that’s all there is to ODST multiplayer.

MISCELLANEOUS

  1. Halo: Reach – I thought Reach’s Forge was the best, mainly due to Forge World being a very good, vast, open canvas to work with. Yeah, all the Forge pieces were gray and dull, but you could still make some really creative stuff with Forge. Reach’s armor was too bulky for my taste. The helmets were, for the most part, good (GUNGNIR is NOT one of them), but the rest of the armor just felt big and bulky. Theater was a refined version of Halo 3’s which was already good.
  2. Halo 4 – I’d put Halo 4’s Forge slightly below Reach’s simply because the maps did not compare to Forge World. Don’t get me wrong, Forge Island was an excellent addition, but still, Forge World has them all beat in my opinion. As for the armor, a lot of it just looks weird, like hardcore sci-fi alien weird. It’s nice that my Spartan doesn’t look like a fat slob like in Reach, but a lot of that armor is just too crazy-looking for my taste. Theater is another step back since we can’t record campaign or Spartan Ops, which just doesn’t make sense.
  3. Halo 3 – For it’s first appearance, Forge was pretty good in Halo 3, especially with the additions of Foundry and Sandbox. I thought most of Halo 3’s custom armor was great. It just felt Halo-y, if that makes sense. Plus, I liked how most of them had to be unlocked by getting achievements or completing other tasks like finding skulls. Theater mode was added in Halo 3, and it was practically flawless right from the get go.
  4. Halo 2 – I can’t say much about Halo 2 here since there was no Forge or Theater, and the only armor customization was armor color. However, all the various glitches you could do in Halo 2 made a very fun experience at times. Super bouncing, Stairway to Heaven, all those glitches were awesome!
  5. Halo 3: ODST – Theater, slight armor customization, that’s about it.
  6. Halo: Combat Evolved – Change your armor color. Not much else.

Holy crap this is a really long post! Wow, seriously, congratulations if you managed to read that giant wall of text. So, which Halo is my overall favorite? Go read my FAQs page if you want the answer. I’m not giving you the answer. Well, that’s it for now, and if you’ll excuse me, I think China just called me. Something about them wanting their wall back….

