So, as I’m sure most of you are well aware, IGN did a live stream of The Master Chief Collection. It consisted of over two hours of multiplayer action, plus a cutscene from Halo 2: Anniversary to show off the Blur cinematics (which looked spectacular). Here’s what I thought as I was watching the stream.

Well, first of all, the stream crashed a few times. I began the stream on my Xbox One via the Twitch app, then moved over to my laptop to watch on IGN’s Twitch channel, but crashes persisted, so I went to IGN’s website where they were doing the stream, and the problems ceased. Yay. The crashing wasn’t Halo’s fault or anything, but it was funny to see the reactions of the stream crashing in the stream, as well as when it was brought back on. Many #HaloisDad and #WeBack comments were seen.

Well, other than that, the stream went relatively smoothly. Along with the guy from IGN, there was someone from 343, and two people from Certain Affinity, the company who did a lot of work on Halo 2, and many of Halo’s map packs. Each map and game mode were selected via fan requests on Twitter, and there was a large variety of game modes that we saw. From straight up Team Slayer, to Snipers, to Assault, to Swords, and even Race, they showed off a lot of game modes, as well as the classic maps that we all know and love. Lockout, Hang ‘Em High, Midship, Battle Creek, and Warlock were just some of the maps that we got to see in glorious 1080p. Well, actually, it was 720p, since that was what the stream was set at. But still. It looked nice.

I still can’t get over how awesome it is to see it be possible to switch from one Halo game to another in seconds, and it will play exactly as we all remember. Most game modes were from Halo 2: Anniversary and Halo 2: Classic, as expected, and I must say, it looked fantastic. All the games did. Though, the one game of Halo 4 that they played (Flood on Haven) got quite a noticeableĀ groan from the viewers on Twitch. Heck, even I was thinking along those lines. Not because I think Halo 4 is bad, but let’s be real. I wanted to see Halo CE, Halo 2, and Halo 3, since they are older and arguably the better of the four included in the MCC.

One thing I noticed was that the load times were quite long. I know that this isn’t the final build of the game that they were showing, but I still hope that the loading times in the final game aren’t as long as they were during the stream. Though, if loading times are the worst thing that I’m complaining about, then 343 has done a fine job, and the MCC should be grand.

The more I watched the stream, the more it made me want to play the MCC right freaking now. I still haven’t preordered the game, and I’m debating if I want to get the digital version, or a physical copy. On one hand, the digital version can be preloaded and that means less time waiting to play. But, on the other hand, it isn’t a physical copy that I can’t add to my collection of Halo games. I also can’t take a huge whiff of the inside of the game case if it is digital. I can’t be the only one who does that, right? Right??

Alright, bye.

