What’s up everybody! In today’s episode, I’ll be talking about Halo 5’s new game mode, Breakout, as well as the two new maps, Regret and Eden. I’ll also touch upon how I feel about BR starts in Halo 5. Let’s do this!

Breakout is new to Halo, and is 343i’s attempt at creating a new, competitive game mode. Rather than being like traditional Slayer, Breakout is divided into rounds, and you only get one life per round, so make it count! The first team to win five rounds wins the match. Each player spawns with an SMG and a Magnum, and player health is adjusted. Kill times are a bit quicker in Breakout than in Slayer, which is saying something, since Halo 5 already has quick kill times compared to previous Halos.

I like how it feels like a Speedball match, both in mechanics, and the map layout. Here is a screenshot of one of the Breakout maps.

h5-beta-crossfire-breakout-establishing-playground-32222988346f453aa769630d705fa377

As for the gameplay, it gets really intense! Having only one life per round really keeps you on your toes, since one mistake could mean that you are waiting for the next round to start. I like that each player spawns with an SMG and a Magnum because then it encourages players to move around and find new weapons, such as an Assault Rifle or a Battle Rifle. If Breakout was BR starts, then no one would move past the initial spawn and would just take pot shots at each other the whole time. I am curious to see how AR starts would play in Breakout.

One thing I would like to see for Breakout is an objective. As of right now, there is no objective other than kill the enemy team. I think that an objective would make Breakout even better. It could be something like taking a neutral flag in the center of the map and bringing it back to your base, or planting a bomb somewhere on the map. I’m not saying that the current version of Breakout should be replaced, not at all. I’d just like to see objective variants to go along with what we already have in Breakout. Having objective variants of Breakout would add variety and make Breakout more fun to play.

Onto the maps, first up is Regret. This is a “remix” of Truth, meaning, that Regret is an alternate variant of Truth, but with various changes to the map. I’ve heard that Regret is an upside-down version of Truth, but I’m not sure if that is true or not. You be the judge.

h5-mp-beta-establishing-regret-lost-and-found-66949bb0f6474e0fbe7128fb40dec811

 

I have mixed feelings toward Regret. It is a decent map, but I think that top mid is too much of a power position. It is extremely well fortified and there is a lot of cover in top mid. If one team sets up at top mid, they have a huge advantage over the other team, and it is difficult to break that team’s position. Remove a lot of the cover up there, and Regret is a much better map. I do prefer Truth over Regret though. Also, since Halo 5 will have a map called Truth and a map called Regret, how likely is it that there will be a map called Mercy? My guess? Very Likely.

Regret is also home to the Hydra Launcher, a brand spankin’ new weapon in Halo 5. It is similar to the Plasma Launcher in Halo: Reach, but it fires rockets instead of plasma grenades, and aiming with the Hydra Launcher will lock-on to enemy players. I’m not sure if I like the Hydra Launcher. Sometimes, the lock-on works for me, and sometimes it doesn’t. I have also had no success hip-firing with it either. I probably just need to learn how to use it properly.

Now, let’s talk about Eden, the remix of Empire. The main difference between Eden and Empire is that Eden has some catwalks in the middle of the map that lead to the two rooms on the far sides of the map. It is also nighttime on Eden, while on Empire, the sun was shining. Here is Eden.

h5-mp-beta-establishing-eden-captains-of-industry-91b488599e414d04be9ade77b67332c6

I don’t particularly care for Eden either. I don’t think it is bad, but I don’t think it is very good either. I much preferred Empire over Eden. I don’t know what it is. Eden just doesn’t seem to flow as well as Empire did. The only problem I had with Empire were the two Sniper Rifles that spawned.

As for BR starts, I dig it. I’ve preferred BR starts over anything else in Halo ever since I got semi-competent at using the BR. I enjoyed AR starts as well, but I just prefer BR starts. A healthy mix of both in Halo 5 would be great.

So, that about wraps things up for this post. Did I cover everything I wanted to? Let’s see… Breakout is fun but could use an objective variant, Regret and Eden are decent, but their original counterparts are better, and I like BR starts. Yeah, I think I covered everything. Okay, bye.

