What’s up everyone! I want to share my thoughts on my experience with each playlist in Halo MCC. Let’s get started!


Team Slayer

Ah, Team Slayer. No objective other than to kill your enemies. It has been a Halo staple since the beginning, and it won’t be going anywhere anytime soon. I always found it intriguing that the Team Slayer playlist does not contain Halo 4. I know that a lot of people did not like Halo 4, but it is still a bit strange to me. Either way, you know what you are getting with Team Slayer. It’s good old Halo carnage.

Big Team Battle

Another Halo classic, BTB is vehicular mayhem at its best, with a mix of Slayer and Objective modes. Big maps, Big teams, Big fun. Every Halo game is available here as well. That being said, it seems that Halo 2 and Halo 3 tend to get voted the most, but I think that it is because they are the most popular games in the series. You’ll still see your fair share of Halo CE and Halo 4, but expect more Halo 2 and Halo 3 action.

Speaking of Halo CE, I am not really a fan of Halo CE in BTB. It mostly has to do with the weapon spawns, particularly how fast they respawn. I will often pick up a power weapon, and within a minute, it has respawned. Couple that with the fact that most Halo CE BTB maps have quite a few sniper rifles, and Halo CE BTB quickly becomes a match of Team Snipers. That is why I usually never vote for Halo CE in BTB, but I’m not one of those dbags who leaves if the game I don’t like gets voted for.

All this aside, Big Team Battle is one of my favorite playlists. It is just plain fun.

Rumble Pit

This was recently changed to include Halo CE, Halo 3, and Halo 4, in addition to Halo 2 Anniversary. While I prefer team games, I enjoy some FFA once in a while, and I like the variety of games and game modes available in this playlist.

Halo Championship Series

This is the official playlist for HCS, so expect the competition to be fierce here. To be honest, I don’t see the point in keeping this playlist. It only has three maps, and playlists like these ones often have lower populations. I think that this playlist should just be merged with the Team Hardcore playlist, since they are pretty much the same thing.

Team Hardcore

Hey, speaking of Team Hardcore, here it is! It contains classic tournament game modes from Halo 2, and eventually, Halo 3. Again, HCS should just be merged with Team Hardcore, as this would allow more variety for competitive players in one playlist.

SWAT

I’m not a fan of SWAT, so I don’t really play it. I’m sure that fans of SWAT love the playlist.

Team Objective

I have played a few matches here, and pretty much every game has ended with my team getting destroyed. I imagine that the hardcore Objective fans are right at home here. That being said, I think 343i stated that they would be removing Team Objective to make room for….

Team Doubles

Yeah! This! It will be back, with a better selection of game modes. Obviously, I only play Doubles if I have someone to play with, as going into Doubles alone is a deathwish. It is fun, and very competitive.

Each dedicated Halo playlist (Halo CE, Halo 2 Classic, Halo 2 Anniversary, Halo 3, Halo 4)

Pretty much what you’d expect. Nothing but Slayer and Objective modes on that dedicated game. Expect hardcore fans of that game in each playlists. So, if you go into the Halo CE playlists, expect to see a lot of hardcore Halo CE vets playing. These playlists are great because if I am in the mood to play nothing but one of the Halos, I can just hop into its dedicated playlist.


I’m sure 343i will add more playlists, and probably remove some as well, so if and when they do, I may post my thoughts on them. If I missed a playlist, sorry, I couldn’t find an updated list, and I didn’t want to boot up my Xbox just to find the playlists.

FYI, this isn’t me ranking each playlist. I just listed them in the order they came to my mind. Just wanted to put that out there.

Well, that’s about it for now. Until next time.

